Committed, Concerned Shreveport Attorney With

Nearly 25 Years
Of Effective Representation

Photo of Mark D. Frederick
[et_pb_dcsbcm_divi_breadcrumbs_module separator="sep-pipe" admin_label="Divi Breadcrumbs" module_class="fl-filepath" _builder_version="4.16" fontsbreadcrumblinks_font="||||on|||#041d33|" fontsbreadcrumblinks_text_color="#041d33" global_colors_info="{}" disabled_on="on|on|off"][/et_pb_dcsbcm_divi_breadcrumbs_module]

Defense against a vehicular assault or homicide charge

by | Feb 13, 2017 | vehicular assault or homicide

Motorists convicted of DUI charges are widely considered as incompetent drivers and are liable to harsh and unforgiving DUI laws in Shreveport, Louisiana. If you are arrested for a felony DWI charge, do not hesitate to contact an experienced DUI attorney to aggressively defend your rights. Possessing a DUI charge can adversely affect your life in more ways than you can imagine. Not only is your reputation questioned but you also risk spending time in jail and your license can be revoked.

Having a prominent DUI attorney is essential in obtaining the best legal outcome from the murky situation. Driving under the influence can ultimately lead to dire consequences to both the motorist and pedestrians. Due to impaired driving, a motorist can inadvertently contribute to catastrophic injuries on pedestrians or vehicular homicide in the worst case scenario. Rather than fleeing the scene, you must immediately assist the injured in the administration of medical aid while contacting your attorney for adequate legal representation.

Once arrested by a police officer, it is advisable to heed to their requests without hesitation, lest more charges are piled on your rap sheet. DUI sentences are categorized based on the individual culprit in the following categories:

  • First-time offenders are liable to a minimum of two days in jail or 48 hours of community service or both in certain circumstances
  • Second-time offenders are liable to a minimum of 30 days in jail or 2 days in detention plus 30 days of community service
  • Regular offenders face a minimum of 45 days in jail

Preparing for a DUI defense can be a hassle to most culprits. Not only are you plagued with hefty fines but you also need to fight the installation of a vehicle tracking device. In Louisiana, Prosecutors have a reputation of retrieving past DUI convictions and using them against you in the current case. Additionally, such convictions can stay on your record for 10 years in the absence of a DUI expungement.

When you are convicted of vehicular assault or homicide, seeking legal representation no longer becomes an option but a necessity. The prospect of spending time in jail looms at the back of your mind and is aggravated by the constant intimidation by the Prosecutor. Being convicted of vehicular assault or homicide should be taken seriously especially with the enactment of stringent penalties.