Committed, Concerned Shreveport Attorney With

Nearly 25 Years
Of Effective Representation

Photo of Mark D. Frederick
[et_pb_dcsbcm_divi_breadcrumbs_module separator="sep-pipe" admin_label="Divi Breadcrumbs" module_class="fl-filepath" _builder_version="4.16" fontsbreadcrumblinks_font="||||on|||#041d33|" fontsbreadcrumblinks_text_color="#041d33" global_colors_info="{}" disabled_on="on|on|off"][/et_pb_dcsbcm_divi_breadcrumbs_module]

Facing DWI charges in Louisiana

by | Dec 20, 2016 | drunk driving

Almost all of us have been there at one time or another. You have a few beers watching the game with buddies or you have a few glasses of wine with dinner. You feel fine to drive and you may not realize that the alcohol has affected you. Then come the flashing blue lights and a sobriety test or a Breathalyzer. You pass the legal limit and all of a sudden you are faced with the prospect of losing your license, being unable to work, having to pay huge fines and even having to go to jail.

Louisiana is known for having some of the toughest DUI laws in the country. For a first offense, you’re looking at two days in jail or 48 hours of community service. A second offense will bring a 30-day jail sentence or 30 days of community service and two days in jail. Once you’ve been pegged with a third offense, you’ll face a minimum of 45 days in jail.

Was it the right thing to do to get behind the wheel after having a few? No. Does that mean you should be paying for it for the rest of your life? No, you shouldn’t. It may not feel like it at times, but it’s important to remember that you have rights.

At the Law Offices of Mark D. Frederick, we can help make sure those rights are protected. We have years of experience defending DUI clients, so contact us today to see how we can help.